Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question

Probably a stupid question and it is sad that Falcon is not here on his birthday to make fun of my naive question but there is something that I have pondered for quite a while. You always hear of horses being retired to stud duty, but what happens if an active racer gets out of his stall and visits a lady friend out back of the barn? Is the horse then not allowed to race anymore because it has been used as a stud? Is the offspring not eligible to race for some reason? It's had to happen some time or the other. Anyone with any knowledge on this issue?
    ** at 21:06, Brian joined the Lobby...
    Brian Ta Das...

https://www.facebook.com/digitaldowns.us
    https://twitter.com/Digitaldowns_US

i have no knowledge..

Comment

Originally posted by Cold Dog Soup Stables
      Probably a stupid question and it is sad that Falcon is not here on his birthday to make fun of my naive question but there is something that I have pondered for quite a while. You always hear of horses being retired to stud duty, but what happens if an active racer gets out of his stall and visits a lady friend out back of the barn? Is the horse then not allowed to race anymore because it has been used as a stud? Is the offspring not eligible to race for some reason? It's had to happen some time or the other. Anyone with any knowledge on this issue?

I should think the horse would be able to keep racing. If there was a rule against it, who would tell, certainly the horse wouldn't although the big grin on his face might give it away. His racing days may be finished though, not through a ruling but his concentration may have altered to a new path. I guess if the owners still wanted him to race, gelding may be the best option.